Kricia Morris Photography – Kailua, HI

Meet Kricia, a wedding and engagement photographer who shoots with Canon using her right eye.  Kricia shoots in both RAW & JPEG simultaneously, primarily in Manual mode, and uses Totally Rad Actions.

www.kriciamorris.com
www.kriciamorrisphotography.com
Facebook
Twitter
Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
Right after purchasing my first DSLR, I 2nd shot at a wedding with a friend, pretty much just as a favor.  I’ve NEVER had so much fun at something that was supposed to be work and I haven’t turned back since!

28-75 mm        51 mm        ISO 640            1/320           f/4.5

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
PRACTICE.  No matter how many times I go for a similar shot, the more I take it, the better it gets.

What makes you different from everyone else?
I think what makes the biggest difference is that I allow my personality to show through in my work.  I love images that are emotional, poignant and fun.  I want my clients to look back at them and say, “Yes!  That’s EXACTLY what I was feeling then!”

50 mm              50 mm        ISO 1600          1/80              f/2.8

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?
There are so many photographers that inspire me it’s hard to narrow it down to just one!  My favorites right now are Justin and Mary Marantz.  They’re taking the world by storm, and their images are simply amazing!

One item you can’t live without?
My Shootsac!  It makes my life so much easier.

Your best bokeh image and why?

17-50 mm        17 mm        ISO 500            1/125            f/5.0

I love this image of the bride’s shoes with the dress in the background.  Something about it just really reflects all the pieces of a wedding day to me!

Why did you want to be included on The Bokeh Pot?
I think it’s an amazing site and I learn so much from it!  If I can help someone like the other articles have helped me, my job is done 🙂

Favorite book?
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.  It’s a classic 🙂

Favorite movie?
The Lion King

17-50 mm        47 mm        ISO 200            1/200            f/5.6

Where do you find inspiration?
EVERYWHERE.  I find myself constantly looking at my environment for backdrops, poses, props, anything.  I also really love spending time at the beach at night when I need to empty out my mind and just let the ideas in.

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?
My client relationships by far.  It’s my goal to have each of my clients become a friend and to know that they are the most important thing to me on their wedding day!

60 mm              60 mm        ISO 1250          1/125           f/4.5

Do you use a second shooter?
I love to have someone with me when I’m shooting for the company, but it’s about 50/50 whether I have someone along.

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?

Just ask!  I’m always open for questions and I LOVE to meet other photographers!

17-50 mm        17 mm        ISO 200            1/160            f/5.6

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?

Jasmine Star.  She always has the most amazing poses and her clients always look so comfortable, I’d love to learn how she pulls it off 🙂

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?

I’m a member of PPA and WPPI

18-200 mm      18 mm        ISO 100            1/125            f/3.5

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?

I quit my job and moved to Florida!  I realized that I was at the point in my life where if I didn’t take a big leap I was never going to have the courage to do it, so off I went!

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?

Shoot anyone, everywhere and all the time.  The more practice you have with real people in front of your lens, the better you’ll be at what you do.

28-75 mm        35 mm        ISO 400            1/125            f/2.8

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?

I just moved to a brand new location and I’m pretty much starting my branding and marketing over from scratch.  I really want to make my business a reflection of myself, and learning how to make myself transparent is quite the learning process!

Are you for or against advertising (paid or free)?  If for, who have you had the most success with?

I’m 100% for advertising, especially when you’re just starting out.  If you don’t get your name out there, nobody will find out what you’re trying to do!  I use Google Ads and I advertise on TheKnot.com.  The best advertising though is and always will be word of mouth from happy clients.

17-50 mm        42 mm        ISO 250            1/200            f/13

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?
Coffee and great conversation.  When creative minds get together, magical things can happen!

17-50 mm        26 mm        ISO 250            1/400            f/5.0

***Enjoy this feature?  Please leave a comment to let us know!***

One Response to Kricia Morris Photography – Kailua, HI

  1. Hey – it’s my girl Kricia – Congrats Kricia for getting highlighted!!! You rock, miss ya!

Leave a Reply

