iDream Media – Chillicothe, OH

 

Meet Brian Jones of iDream Media.  Brian is a wedding, portrait, and wildlife photographer who uses Canon equipment and shoots with his right eye.  He shoots in both RAW & JPEG, Manual and AV modes, and uses TRA actions.

 

http://www.idreamimages.com
http://blog.idreamimages.com
Facebook
Twitter
Myspace

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?

I have always wanted photography as a career. After graduation I wanted to take photography in college but my parents told me I could never make a living doing it so I ended up going a different direction. After a few different majors and everyone telling me I should do photography full time  I finally enrolled at the Ohio Institute of Photography in Dayton, Ohio. I earned a degree in portrait photography.

1/2500, ISO 640, 85L F1.6, 5D MKII

 

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?

Have fun!

What makes you different from everyone else?

I am very outgoing and connect with my clients easily. I try and capture the small details that people tend to forget about.

5D MKII, 70-200 F 2.8

 

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?

ME 😉 haha

 

One item you can’t live without?

My 85L

 

Your best bokeh image?

5D MKII, 85L, F1.2 ISO500


Favorite movie?

300

 

Where do you find inspiration?

Malls

 

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?

The different look that I deliver. It’s more modern and edgy.

 

Do you use a second shooter?

Sometimes

 

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?

Just ask 😉

 

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?

Jerry Ghionis


Canon 5D MKII, 1/200 F1.8, 85L, ISO800

 

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?

PPA, WPPI, NILMDTS, I have won awards for my nature and wildlife photos 😉

 

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?

I wanted to make sure I was fully prepared and ready before accepting and weddings. You have one chance to get it right!


5D MKII, 1/5000, F1.4, 85L, ISO100

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?

Work with other photographers and get out there and shoot.

 

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?

I get out in the community and get noticed. I also work with a local jewelry store and give a complimentary engagement session when they buy an engagement ring.

5dMKII, 1/5000, ISO640 85L f1.6

 

Are you for or against advertising (paid or free)?  If for, who have you had the most success with?

Both! I have had alot of success from Facebook! My website and I also have a commercial running which has reached alot of homes for not alot of money. Check your local cable company for rates.

 

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?

Just grab your gear and go out shooting…try things you wouldn’t normally do alone.


5D MKII, 1/1600, 85L f2.8

<script type=”text/javascript”>
var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.&#8221; : “http://www.&#8221;);
document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));
</script>
<script type=”text/javascript”>
try {
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-5797080-2”);
pageTracker._trackPageview();
} catch(err) {}</script>
Leave a Reply

