Brianne Bradbury Photography – Arlington Heights, IL

Meet Brianne, a wedding and portrait photographer in Illinois.  She shoots RAW with her right eye using Canon equipment in manual or tv modes.  She prefers Totally Rad Actions for post production.

http://www.briannebradburyphotography.com
http://briannebradburyphoto.blogspot.com/
Facebook
Twitter

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?

An old college friend contacted me and she had become an amazing
wedding photographer.  After second shooting for her and lots of
support, I started shooting some of my own weddings and loved every
minute.  Being able to have a career that you love was a huge
motivator to make my business work.

22mm, 400ISO, f 4.5, 1/60

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?

That your personality is everything.

What makes you different from everyone else?

I think my personality definitely sets me apart.  When guests at a
wedding are telling you that your photos look amazing when they
haven’t seen anything you shot is always amazing to hear.  The only
thing they have seen is me and my personality!

24mm, 2000ISO, f 8, 1/100

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?

There are so many amazing up and coming photographers that it is hard
to chose, but I’m going to have to go with Cristina G Photography
(http://www.cristinagphoto.com/)!  I met her by second shooting for
her a year ago and she is absolutely amazing!

24mm, 640ISO, f 18, 1/160

One item you can’t live without?

Other than my camera and equipment, it would be my laptop that is
almost always in my lap if I’m home!  I check my email every couple of
minutes and some day I will have to go to a meeting for it 😉

Your best bokeh image and why?
34mm, 1000ISO, f 4, 1:500

I just recently shot a portrait session and one of my favorite images
from it is a bokeh image.  Loralei was one of the most adorable giggly
babies and Melissa, her mom, was holding her out towards the camera
allowing for Loralei to be in focus and Melissa out of focus!  The
background is just a lot of dots and looks great keeping the focus
mostly on Loralei!  I just blogged about the session, so feel free to
give it a look and let me know what you think since I’m just about to
put portraits on my website!

Why did you want to be included on The Bokeh Pot?

Who wouldn’t!

Favorite book?
My two favorite books are Time Traveller’s Wife and The Shadow of the
Wind!  They are both absolutely amazing books and I have recommended
them to everyone.

Favorite movie?

There are so many I love that I can’t choose just
one!  Some movies that I watch often are: 10th Kingdom, Princess
Bride, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Kill Bill, Love Actually to name a
few.  There are so many I’m forgetting though!

34mm, 400ISO, f 7.1, 1/200

Where do you find inspiration?

I love to shoot outside with beautiful natural light and all the
colors are so inspirational.  When you look around and can’t figure
out the first place you want to take someone’s picture because there
are so many great places is always amazing.

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?

Me, since I really am the business!

Do you use a second shooter?

Sometimes and hopefully more often next year!

45mm, 400ISO, f 3.5, 1/200


How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you
go about getting the gig?

I’d love to hear from them and they just need to contact me!


If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?

I think it would have to be Joe Buissink. He is so amazing and it
would be fun to shoot a famous wedding!

52mm, 800ISO, f 5, 1/200

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?

I belong to PPA and I haven’t won any awards yet 😉


What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any
hoops to jump through?

The major leap was purchasing all the equipment I needed!  Otherwise
it was a lot of advice from other photographs, but no real hoops.

30mm, 800ISO, f 4.5, 1/200

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?

My biggest suggestion is making sure you have support because it isn’t
always an easy transition!


What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw
new clients?

I don’t think I’ve done anything new that hasn’t been done yet, but
hopefully one day I’ll have a stroke of genius!


Are you for or against advertising (paid or free)?  If for, who have
you had the most success with?

I’m definitely for advertising because it is difficult to get your
name out there when you just start and advertising helps and then word
of mouth is always the best.  I’ve had the most success with Wedding
Wire and Wedplan.

50mm, 800ISO, f 2.8, 1/320

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?

Dinner and then a long walk on the beach, oh wait, networking… a
perfect networking date is in a comfortable casual setting that allows
you to talk easily and freely.

Anything else you would like to share?

There will always be hard times, especially during winter (here in
Chicago it can get pretty brutal!), so just stick in there and spring
is right around the corner!

50mm, 400ISO, f 2.5, 1/320

One Response to Brianne Bradbury Photography – Arlington Heights, IL

  1. Otto Rascon says:

    Great article and awesome images. Brianne is a Rock Star and a super cool girl! I am glad others can see her work here.

Leave a Reply

