Devin Boughey Photography – Louisville, KY

Meet Devin, a wedding and portrait photographer based out of Louisville, KY.  Devin shoots Canon using her right eye and shoots manual and aperture priority in both RAW and JPEG .  She prefers to use her own lightroom presets.

flashyME
http://www.Flashy-Photography.com

http://www.Blog.Flashy-Photography.com
Facebook

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
I have always known that I wanted to be a photographer, I just wasn’t sure how to go about it. I got in touch with a local photographer and she gave me the encouragement and advice that I needed. As soon as I hung up the phone with her I knew that this was what I was meant to do. I went out the next day and bought my first DSLR and I’ve never looked back.

flashy147mm, 100 ISO, 1/395, F/4.0

 

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
Practice makes perfect! And always be yourself, people can sense when someone is being fake and its a definite turn off.

 

What makes you different from everyone else?
I always give 100% and I am totally in love with what I do… and also there is only one me, what could be more wonderfully different then that?

Flashy247mm, 100 ISO , 1/25, F/5.7

 

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?
Theresa Spalding with Envy Photography http://www.EnvyPhotography.net She should already be famous!

 

One item you can’t live without?
My GPS, I would literally be lost with out it.

 

Your best bokeh image and why?
flashyfavbokeh

132mm,100iso, 1/395, f/5.7

I just love this, I think she looks like she is in deep thought…and there is this childhood innocence about it. It makes me smile.

 

Why did you want to be included on The Bokeh Pot?
Well why not? I think it’s a great networking site and an even better place to showcase some of my work. I always enjoy looking at other photographers images…hopefully there are some people out there that will enjoy what I have done

 

Favorite book?
I am a huge fan of the Twilight Series, I also enjoy books by Lauren Weisberger and Nicholas Sparks.

 

Favorite movie?
There is NO way I could choose just one – Wayne’s World, My Best Friends Wedding, The Breakfast club, Teen Witch, Father of the Bride…are just a few

flashy318mm, 200 ISO, 1/99, F/6.4

 

Where do you find inspiration?
Through the people that I photograph, nature, and from other photographers blogs.

 

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?
I think it’s the friendships that I form with clients. I really value the relationships that I form with the people that I work with.

flashy441mm, 400 ISO, 1/63, F/5.0

 

Do you use a second shooter?
I have a few times, but only at weddings

 

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?
Just email me, I’d love to hear from you!

 

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?
With out a doubt Bobbi + Mike (www.BobbiandMike.com) I LOVE their energy and style.

flashy528mm, 100 ISO, 1/99, F/5.7

 

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?
I just mailed my application to become a member of the Professional Photographers Of Greater Louisville association, and I am very excited about that. No awards yet…

 

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?
After I got my first DSLR I started second shooting for people and I learned a lot that way and eventually branched out on my own. Through the help of my very supporting husband and good friends that pass my name out to anyone who mentions the word ‘engaged’ I have built up a nice clientele base. Everyday is another hoop to jump through. It is a learning process, but I love every minute of it.

flashy620mm, 400 ISO, 1/83, F/5.7

 

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?
Follow your heart, its a lot of hard work, but if its something you really want to do then the work is totally worth it. Don’t be afraid to ask questions, and if you are presented with the opportunity to learn something new, don’t pass it up!

flashy718mm, 400 ISO, 1/197, F/9.1

 

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?
Its not very creative, but I have gotten a lot of referrals from past clients that were really happy with my work.

 

Are you for or against advertising (paid or free)?  If for, who have you had the most success with?
I am for any kind of advertising. For me, word of mouth has proven to be the most effective. I signed up for a booth at a bridal show in January so I guess I will have to wait and see if that brings in more business.

flashy828mm, 100 ISO, 1/197, F/3.5

 

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?
I think it would be really fun to do a group “Trash the Dress” session followed up by some yummy Starbucks

flashy1028mm,100 ISO, 1/63. F/5.6

 

Anything else you would like to share?
I have three dogs that are pretty much AWESOME.

Flashy1128mm, 100 ISO, 1/64, F.40

***Enjoy this feature?  Please leave a comment and let us know!***

2 Responses to Devin Boughey Photography – Louisville, KY

  1. Kristina says:

    Yay! I love it! Everyone’s always asking me why I haven’t thought about doing photography professionally and I never really know what to say. But you’ve inspired me to seriously start pursuing it. I can’t wait to move to Louisville!

  2. Kathy says:

    Devin is a very good photographer and takes it very seriously. It is a joy to watch her work and the way she creates scenes and background for her shot.
    I would recommend her highly for any event or occasion.

Leave a Reply

