Leah Stafford Photography, Intimate Boudoir – Akron, OH

Meet Leah of Leah Stafford Photography and Intimate Boudoir.  Leah’s focus is destination weddings and boudoir.  She shoots JPEG with her left eye using Canon equipment.  She shoots in manual mode and uses TRA and Heart and Soul Actions.

leah stafford pic

http://www.leahstaffordphotography.com/
http://intimates.leahstaffordphotography.com/
Facebook
Twitter
Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?

My husband was the one who gave me confidence to do this. I waited and waited until I was really ready. And also, I really hated waking up at 5AM to go to work.

antiguawedding28MM 200ISO, 1/1300 2.2

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
the relationhip you have with your clients. treat them as more than someone who just comes through your door. treat them as one of your closest friends. do that and the rewards will be very great.
What makes you different from everyone else?
just being me. 🙂

CHICAGBOUDOIR128mm, 800iso

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?
jen williams. she’s done so much in so little time.
One item you can’t live without?
my iphone. it’s a terrible addiction.

Your best bokeh image and why?

DJWedding27028MM, 500ISO, 1/5399, 1.8

i adore this shot. i love bright colors and detail shots. i was also blown away by the bokeh. thank you 28 1.8 🙂

Why did you want to be included on The Bokeh Pot?
i think its important to keep in connection with other photographers and see what is going on. we have a very unique jobs. some of my peers are my closest friends.

Favorite book?
i’m actually a magazine person. i stock up on them all

Favorite movie?
mr and mrs smith. brad pitt. need i say more?

destinationwedding50MM 1.2. 100ISO, 1/5300 1.6

Where do you find inspiration?
random places and random things. the other day i was driving down the freeway and the light was hitting the field and it was perfectly lit up. I could imagine myself out there shooting and was totally going through the poses in my head. I also look at others work and then think of ways to redo it to my style. Magazines, music, anything. Inspiration is everywhere for me.

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?
confidence. what is your business without it?

flowersleah28 mm 200iso, 1/2000, 1.8

Do you use a second shooter?
it’s usually my hubby. he rocks it out.

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?
just ask! i love working with new people, it challenges me.

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?
jose villa + bobbi and mike. 2 totally different styles but nonetheless, amazing

mexico wedding28MM, 500ISO, 1/8000, 1.8

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?
PPA.
What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?
No hoops or interesting story. I just wanted to make sure it was the right timing.

NYCBOUDOIR50mm, 200ISO, 1/320 1.6

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?
Take your time and don’t burn yourself out too quickly. Good things come to those who wait. There is nothing wrong with taking your time in the process.

nycengagement50MM, 320ISO, 1/2000, 1.8

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?
nothing groundbreaking. i have an amazing referral system so 90% of my business is word of mouth.

weddingdress28mm 100iso, 1/800, 1.8

Are you for or against advertising (paid or free)?  If for, who have you had the most success with?
In the beginning I did some paid advertising. It wasn’t what I was expecting so I reevaluated that route. I turned to a great referral system and free things- like facebook! Most recently, I have decided to sign up for google adwords. The results, in such a short time (4 days as I write this) have brought me tremendous results!

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?
Talking boudoir in a coffeeshop.

portraitmiami50mm 250iso, 1/1300 2.0

**Enjoy this feature?  Leave a comment to let us know!**

2 Responses to Leah Stafford Photography, Intimate Boudoir – Akron, OH

  1. thanks for the feature girls!

  2. Love your work. It is very fresh and creative!

Leave a Reply

