Vida Carson Photography – Philadelphia, PA

Meet Vida, a portrait and wedding photographer who uses Nikon.  She is left handed, but uses her right eye to shoot with.  She shoots in Manual Mode but uses both RAW and JPEG.  She mostly uses actions that she created herself, but will occasionally use Totally Rad or Nichole Van Actions.

3775889370_b23886090e

http://vidacarson.com/

http://vidacarson.com/blog/

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
I was editing some pictures that I took of my best friend and in my head I said “hey.. I could do this!” then two weeks later a close friend of mine who does tattoos (LeenaInk) hired me to do some photos for a magazine spread that she’d be in and… that was that.

DSC_0060

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
Hm.. that’s a toughy because I’ve learned a lot of things. The most valuable thing would probably be that you can’t be anyone other than yourself. Stay true to who you are and clients will love you for that.

DSC_0004

What makes you different from everyone else?
I think I stand out because I can always make you laugh! Whether we’re in the middle of downtown Philly or laying in a field, I love making people laugh. I try to connect with my clients on a more personal level because photography is always more fun when it’s with a friend.

DSC_0105

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?
If I had to pick one, it would have to be Natalie Franke of Natalie Franke Photography. I just had the pleasure of meeting her in Maryland and she’s just awesome. If you’re ever in Maryland and need a photographer – she’s your girl!

DSC_0327

One item you can’t live without?
My cell phone! I’m a texting junkie so without my cell phone I feel so lost 😦

Your favorite bokeh image?

DSC_0011

Why did you want to be included on The Bokeh Pot?
Because I often stalk other photographers so why not let someone stalk me for a change? 😉

Favorite book?
A Million Little Pieces by James Frey

Favorite movie?
Anna and the King

DSC_0107 copy

Where do you find inspiration?
I find inspiration all over the place! Ofcourse through fashion magazines and my amazing contacts on Flickr but also through the little things, the every day things. When it’s cold outside and you close your eyes and imagine being in the arms of the ones you love.. I want my pictures to be the scene you’re imagining. Is that cheesy? 😉

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?
Self respect! I don’t think anyone else will respect you or your art if you don’t respect yourself.

DSC_0338

Do you use a second shooter?
Since this is my first year as a wedding photographer, I haven’t used a second shooter yet. I also don’t know many photographers in my area so that could be another reason!

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?
Just email me! I check my email about 50 times a day 🙂

DSC_0355 copy

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?
Oh, that’s a tough one. Definitely Jonas Peterson or Ken Kienow. They’re not super famous photographers but I know them through a forum I belong to and I just love their work and they’re really nice guys 🙂

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?
I am now a member of PPA. I’ve won a non photography related award. I wrote a play and it was chosen to be cast and performed off Broadway.

DSC_0431

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?
I’m still not a full time photographer because I’m currently in college so I haven’t really “taken the leap” I guess. I’m still jumping through hoops now.. it’s expensive to start a photography business andit takes a lot of time and effort.

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?
Even if you get knocked down a couple times (which you will) if you want it bad enough, it’ll happen. I promise.

DSC_0145 copy

**Enjoy this feature?  Please leave a comment to let us know!**

Leave a Reply

