Cassidy Dawn Photography – Chillicothe, OH

Meet Cassidy Drummond of Cassidy Dawn Photography.  Cassidy’s focus is portraits and weddings and her husband is her second shooter.  She uses Canon and shoots with her left eye.  She shoots Jpeg in Manual Mode and loves Red Leaf Studio‘s Actions.

cassidydawnheadshot

www.cassidydawn.com

www.cassidydawn.com/blog

Facebook

Cassidy Hall Drummond

Cassidy Dawn Photography

Twitter

@cassidydawn

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
In junior high my locker was covered with landscape photos from various vacations, and a friend said, “I want to be a photographer on the side when I’m older.” I thought, I want to be a photographer too, but all the time.

ISO100 24mm f7.1 1_200_1ISO100 24mm f7.1


What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
Don’t do something just because you think that’s what everyone wants to see. Make your business & your work reflect you. Why strive to be someone else? God made us the way He did for a reason.

What makes you different from everyone else?

I wouldn’t say I am different from anyone else. I can honestly say that my career is also my passion, and those that can say that are some of the most blessed people on earth. I am just a girl that loves her life and everything in it. No one is the same, but I am by no means extraordinary.

ISO100 50mm f1.4 1_2000_1ISO100 50mm f1.4

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?

Josh Goleman (I don’t know if you can call him up-and-coming…but not enough people know about this guy…so much talent, wow!)

One item you can’t live without?

My GPS, ask anyone who knows me.

Your favorite bokeh image?

ISO100 85mm f2.8 1_160_1ISO100 85mm f2.8


Favorite book?

Ooh, hate to say it, but I am just not a book girl. (My poor husband is an English teacher!)  I love magazines, although they are fading. I lost Cottage Living & Domino last year…

Favorite movie?

Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium – puts me in the best mood J

ISO100 70mm f2.8 1_60_1ISO100 70mm f2.8

Where do you find inspiration?

Nature. My house is a cottage hidden away in the hills. I can’t see my neighbors; I have a waterfall in my front yard and a cave under my driveway. It’s a little piece of heaven.

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?

Um…me. It’s is called Cassidy Dawn Photography. You make your business, make it what you want it to be.

ISO100 70mm f2.8 1_320_1ISO100 70mm f2.8

Do you use a second shooter?

On weddings, it’s my husband. He’s very, very talented!

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?

Ask…it never hurts to ask! That’s how I got started!  I like to keep it at two shooters though, but if my husband can’t be there – I’d love to have you!

ISO100 85mm f1.8 1_60_1ISO100 85mm f1.8 1_60_1

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?

Red Leaf Studios….I am in awe of their work. Vintage & Nature-y…just my style!

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?

OSP, Wedding Wire

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?

I was majoring in Art in college and felt like I wasn’t being fed all the photo goodness I needed. I switched my major to Business and found a photography mentor who let me intern for a year. We clicked right away and I worked for her for 3 years. She is not only my mentor, but the most amazing photographer. Not only did I learn the value of an image from her, but she showed me that nothing is more important than having pure kindness towards everyone and loving your life down to each little detail of the day. I am eternally grateful to Melanie Mauer (www.melaniemauer.com).

ISO100 85mm f1.8 1_1000_1ISO100 85mm f1.8 1_1000_1

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?

It’s all about believing in yourself.  Maybe set a list of goals that you need to achieve before taking the leap, but whatever you do, believe that you can do it.

ISO200 70mm f5.0 1_200_1ISO200 70mm f5.0

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?

I don’t believe I have any particular groundbreaking thing. I treat my clients they way that they should be treated.  They are such an important part of what we do, my clients aren’t just some business one day and then we move on.  They are my referral system, 80% of my business is from word of mouth.

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?

um…ice cream. Do you really need anything more than ice cream?

ISO400 85mm f4.5 1_400_1ISO400 85mm f4.5

*Enjoy this feature?  Leave a comment to let us know!*

Your name?

Cassidy Drummond

Your business name and are you a single or multiple shooting team?

Cassidy Dawn Photography, Single. (my husband is my second shooter on weddings)

Your location?

Chillicothe, Ohio

Your shooting specialty/focus?

Portraits & Weddings

Nikon or Canon?

Canon

Left eye or right?

Left

Raw or Jpeg?

Jpeg

What shooting mode/s do you use?

Manual

Actions?

A variety, love Red Leaf Studio’s action sets

Descriptive Answer (mostly) Section:

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
In junior high my locker was covered with landscape photos from various vacations, and a friend said, “I want to be a photographer on the side when I’m older.” I thought, I want to be a photographer too, but all the time.

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
Don’t do something just because you think that’s what everyone wants to see. Make your business & your work reflect you. Why strive to be someone else? God made us the way He did for a reason.

What makes you different from everyone else?

I wouldn’t say I am different from anyone else. I can honestly say that my career is also my passion, and those that can say that are some of the most blessed people on earth. I am just a girl that loves her life and everything in it. No one is the same, but I am by no means extraordinary.

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?

Josh Goleman (I don’t know if you can call him up-and-coming…but not enough people know about this guy…so much talent, wow!)

One item you can’t live without?

My GPS, ask anyone who knows me.

Your best bokeh image and why?

Favorite book?

Ooh, hate to say it, but I am just not a book girl. (My poor husband is an English teacher!)  I love magazines, although they are fading. I lost Cottage Living & Domino last year…

Favorite movie?

Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium – puts me in the best mood J

Where do you find inspiration?

Nature. My house is a cottage hidden away in the hills. I can’t see my neighbors; I have a waterfall in my front yard and a cave under my driveway. It’s a little piece of heaven.

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?

Um…me. It’s is called Cassidy Dawn Photography. You make your business, make it what you want it to be.

Do you use a second shooter?

On weddings, it’s my husband. He’s very, very talented!

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?

Ask…it never hurts to ask! That’s how I got started!  I like to keep it at two shooters though, but if my husband can’t be there – I’d love to have you!

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?

Red Leaf Studios….I am in awe of their work. Vintage & Nature-y…just my style!

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?

OSP, Wedding Wire

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?

I was majoring in Art in college and felt like I wasn’t being fed all the photo goodness I needed. I switched my major to Business and found a photography mentor who let me intern for a year. We clicked right away and I worked for her for 3 years. She is not only my mentor, but the most amazing photographer. Not only did I learn the value of an image from her, but she showed me that nothing is more important than having pure kindness towards everyone and loving your life down to each little detail of the day. I am eternally grateful to Melanie Mauer (www.melaniemauer.com).

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?

It’s all about believing in yourself.  Maybe set a list of goals that you need to achieve before taking the leap, but whatever you do, believe that you can do it.

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?

I don’t believe I have any particular groundbreaking thing. I treat my clients they way that they should be treated.  They are such an important part of what we do, my clients aren’t just some business one day and then we move on.  They are my referral system, 80% of my business is from word of mouth.

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?

um…ice cream. Do you really need anything more than ice cream?

Leave a Reply

