Courtney Reece Photography – Louisville, KY

Meet Courtney, a Canon girl all the way, whose focus is wedding photography.  Courtney shoots with her Left eye, most of the time, using RAW in Manual or Aperture Priority Modes.  She doesn’t use actions often, but when she does, she prefers Totally Rad Actions : The Revenge,  “because, well…they’re Totally Rad, duh”.

bpme-1

http://www.courtneyreece.com

Facebook
Twitter
Myspace

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
I remember once seeing someone with a really nice dSLR camera, remembering that I always wanted to learn more about photography back in my high school days, and realizing how much time I had let pass without going for it, and it was basically now or never. And so I took the leap, bought a secondhand dSLR, then I never turned back! And when I got married myself last year, I knew Weddings were something incredible to capture and I wanted to give people that joy. And that’s how my career journey has started.:)

bpjje-36450mm, 1/800, ISO 160, f/1.6

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
I think I’ve learned that most importantly, in order to be successful you have to be yourself! You can be an incredible photographer but if people don’t feel like they know and trust you, they may not want to work with you.

What makes you different from everyone else?
There is only one Me! Isn’t that enough? 😉

bpkcse_74

50mm, 1/3200, ISO 250, f/1.8

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?
Gah! She’s not so up and coming anymore but she was when I first started following her and that is Miss Jamie Delaine. She’s totally fab. She’s a wonderful writer, extremely talented at her craft and seems like someone I could totally chill with. 🙂 And her faith is untouchable and totally awesome.

One item you can’t live without?
My blackberry. I’m addicted to it.

Your best bokeh image and why?
bpkke_50

50mm, 1/250, ISO 100, f/1.4

This is my favorite because not only is it lovely bokeh but lovely sun flare too! 🙂

Why did you want to be included on The Bokeh Pot?
Because you’re not cool unless you do The Bokeh Pot interview. 😉 I also think The Bokeh Pot is a great way for people that are new to the industry to get their names out there to everyone. Clients and Photographers both!

Favorite book?
I’m an avid reader so this is an incredibly hard question. I’m a huge Twilight series fan as well as Harry Potter, anything by Nicholas Sparks, Jodi Piccoult, and Sophie Kinsella. And Memoirs of a Geisha really sucked me in when I read it. 🙂

Favorite movie?
GAH! Another tough question. I think my top 5 in no particular order are, The Notebook, Forrest Gump, What About Bob, Meet Me In St. Louis, You’ve Got Mail. (Yes, that’ right…You’ve Got Mail. Its my guilty pleasure!)

bpkmhw-4

50mm, 1/100, ISO 125, f/2.0

Where do you find inspiration?
I try to see inspiration in everything. But a lot of the time, and probably just because I spend so much time doing this, I find my inspiration by reading other blogs. All kinds of blogs. I’m a huge follower of a ton of other wedding photographers and I’m a celebrity blog junkie. 🙂

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?
The most valuable aspect of the business is Me! I’m sure that is everyone’s answer but how can you not be the most valuable player in your own game?

bpkmhw-167

50mm, 1/3200, ISO 400, f/1.2

Do you use a second shooter?
I always use a second shooter. It’s reassuring, and just fun to hang out with someone all day who totally gets everything you do because they’re doing it too!

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?
Email me! 🙂

bpmcbw-247

28mm, 1/640, ISO 400, f/1.8

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?
Jamie Delaine of course! Or Jasmine Star. Or Melissa Jill. Three of my favorite photographers ever. 🙂

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?

I’m a PPA member, but not an award winner. Yet 😉

bpkmhw-208

50mm, 1/6000, ISO 400, f/1.2

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?
It was a big leap to spend the kind of money it takes to build up an initial set up gear-wise. But as for jumping hoops I didn’t struggle too much making the decisions to do everything. My husband is incredibly supportive and amazing. 🙂

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?
If you know in your heart of hearts that this is what you’re supposed to do, just go for it. But be smart about it. Don’t put yourself in debt if you don’t absolutely have to but don’t let anything or anyone hold you back. Have confidence. 🙂

bplg_9

50mm, 1/3200, ISO 160, f/1.2

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?
I’m very lucky that I have amazing friends who’ve pushed my name out there to anyone and everyone. Its not very creative but its incredibly helpful and has really done the most for me when it comes to drawing new clients.

Are you for or against advertising (paid or free)?  If for, who have you had the most success with?
I am not at all against paid advertising if you have the funds to do so. I’ve not really spent any money on advertising yet, because I’ve been fortunate enough to have free advertisements via word of mouth and happy clients. But that’s not to say I won’t in the future!  🙂

bplje-10850mm, 1/400, ISO 125, f/2.0

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?
My perfect photographer networking date is grabbing lunch lunch or hanging out at a coffee shop where you can chat for hours about this awesome business.

bpmcbw-313

50mm, 1/800, ISO 400, f/1.8

**Enjoy reading this feature?  Leave a comment & let us know!**

Leave a Reply

