Burnett Photography – Auburn, AL

Meet Jamie Burnett of Burnett Photography.  Jamie is generally a single shooter, but has recently gotten some assistants that she hopes will be shooting with her someday.  Her specialty is bright, colorful images that show a moment in someone’s life and becomes a contemporary piece of art.  Jamie uses Canon and Olympus, RAW and JPEG, manual and Av modes, and prefers lightroom presets to actions, but does have a few that she developed herself.

Jamie

http://www.burnettphotography.com/
http://burnettphotography.com/blog/
http://twitter.com/jmeburnett

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
When I was shooting as a hobby and had so many requests, that I joked I was going to have to start charging, so I did!

Jamie_Burnett_001

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
I have learned so much on OSP, and made some amazing friendships.

Jamie_Burnett_009

What makes you different from everyone else?
In the South… my teeth.  Just kidding.  I am very outgoing, not easily embarrassed and will try almost anything.  I also approach everyone like I’ve known them forever, it makes meeting new people so much better. I laugh so hard I cry…  A LOT, and so do my clients!

Jamie_Burnett_002

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?
Amelia Strauss is one of my favorite people… She laughs with me too, and is insanely talented!

One item you can’t live without?

My GPS

Your best bokeh image and why?

Jamie_Burnett_010
Love the lighting and how the trees framed her.

Where do you find inspiration?
I get magazines by the armloads.. they inspire me.

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?

Being young, fun and energetic.  People aren’t bored or feel awkward.  A huge percentage of my clients become my friends.

Jamie_Burnett_003

Do you use a second shooter?

Occasionally I have clients request them.

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?
E-mail me!

Jamie_Burnett_004

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?

Jasmine Star

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?

I am a PPA member.   I did win a photography contest once and the prize was a DQ basket meal… I don’t tell too many people that though… shhhhh!

Jamie_Burnett_005

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?
Gear and websites and blogs oh my… You have to constantly upgrade to showcase your work and stay current.

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?

You have to give 100% all the time if you want to be sucessful, go big!

Jamie_Burnett_006

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?

Since I moved from one side of the country to the other, I have tried hard to spread the word about myself to my new community through the internet, word of mouth and networking, and so far my efforts have paid off.

Jamie_Burnett_007

Are you for or against advertising (paid or free)?  If for, who have you had the success with?

I purchased one newspaper ad in the bridal section, and never had any return… Internet advertising and word of mouth!

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?
Lunch, laughs and sharing what makes us successful.  I try never use the word competition.  We are all in the same profession, working to better ourselves, and we can help each other.

Jamie_Burnett_008

**Enjoy reading this feature?  Leave a comment to let us know!**

3 Responses to Burnett Photography – Auburn, AL

  1. Rachael Earl says:

    Jamie is the cat’s meow! Love love love her work!

  2. Thanks Rach! You rock!

  3. Zak says:

    Awesome Jamie! Love what you’re up to. 🙂 Teeth are good! 😉

Leave a Reply

