Erica Ferrone Photography – Winchester, MA

Meet Erica, a wedding and portrait photographer who shoots Nikon using her right eye.  She shoots RAW in manual mode and processes with TRA and a few of her own actions.

erica-ferrone-photo-by-lisa-smithphoto by Lisa Smith

www.ericaferrone.com
www.ericaferrone.blogspot.com

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
I’ve always had a passion for photography, but it was my first wedding as a second shooter that really made me realize this is what I needed to be doing with my life. You know that saying, “if you love what you do, than you’ll never work a day in your life.” That is completely true J

1ferroneISO2000 35mm f2.8 1/100

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
Just be as friendly as possible to everyone you meet and try to help them out as much as you can because it definitely comes back around.

What makes you different from everyone else?
By the time I shoot a clients wedding, they are my friends and I feel like the pictures show that. You are way more comfortable in front of a camera if your friend is behind it!

2ferroneISO200 62mm f4.5 1/250

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?
I’m not sure what defines an up-and-coming, but I am blown away every time by Joey Lawrence.

One (thing) you can’t live without?
My boyfriend’s support. Reese was a huge help in starting my business and continues to encourage me to follow my dreams.

Your best bokeh image and why?

bokeh-imageISO1250 50mm f1.8 1/125

This bokeh image means the most to me. This bride’s father had cancer and it was a miracle that he was able to make it to the wedding. They had changed the date to make it earlier and had handed out bottles of Purell to guests to be safe. He was one of the sweetest men I have met and when they had been announced bride and groom and were walking down the aisle, I snapped this shot of him looking on.  It means so much to me that they will have this forever.

Favorite book?
Memoirs of a Geisha and all the Harry Potters. They are just so good.

Favorite movie?
I love Donnie Brasco, A Bronx Tale, The Illusionist and Rounders.

Where do you find inspiration?
I am constantly looking for inspiration in the everyday although I almost always find it in fashion magazine, and other photographer’s blogs.

3ferroneISO250 56mm f2.8 1/320

Do you use a second shooter?
Yes. Everytime. I think it is important to capture different angles because it helps tell the story of the day.

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?
I am always looking for second shooters. Just send me an email with some of your work 😉

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?
My favorite people to shoot with are Zev Fisher and Joe Prezioso and while this list just keeps on getting longer, I would love to shoot with Jasmine Star, Ohana Photographers, Fuller Edge, Mike Colon, David Jay, and Joey Lawrence.

4ferroneISO800 70mm f2.8 1/60

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?
I am on OSP (screen name: Tucker) and although it’s not an award, I’m psyched that one of my weddings will be featured in the Knot Boston magazine in June.

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?
I am a lucky girl when it came to breaking into photography. I worked under amazing people that really let me dive right in, and when it came to starting my own business, I have been fortunate with word of mouth advertising.

5ferroneISO500 32mmf2.8 1/1000

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?
Even if it is just lugging gear at weddings, get as much experience as you can. Also, get involved in forums because you won’t believe how much you can learn when you read for an hour a day.

6ferroneISO1250 56mm f2.8 1/320

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?
It isn’t too creative, but posting a few pictures from my past weddings on Facebook has helped me greatly.

7ferroneISO1250 38mm f2.8 1/6

Are you for or against advertising (paid or free)?  If for, who have you had the most success with?
I have advertised in the past, but my success falls completely into the word of mouth category. Make real connections with people and your business will thrive just off of referrals.

8ferroneISO250 31mm f 2.8 1/1000

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?
I have been on many because one of my favorite things is finding a fun photographer in my area to bounce ideas off of and someone to hang out with that has my same crazy schedule. My favorites “dates” have been those that aren’t 100% about photography. I love people that aren’t solely concentrated on my post processing or talking about lighting techniques. I love when I get to know the person.

9ferroneISO400 62mm f 2.8 1/800

***Enjoy this feature?  Leave a comment to let us know!***

7 Responses to Erica Ferrone Photography – Winchester, MA

  1. Courtney says:

    Yay for my girl Erica!! You ROCK sister!! 🙂 You are going to big places and I am soooo happy for you!

  2. rock on wit yo bad sef erica!!!

  3. Kim Calakoutis says:

    YEAHHH ERICA

  4. Paula says:

    You are a truley talented visionary…totaly dedicated to your work. Your clients have postitive reactions to your naturally upbeat personality and outragous smile make. An outstanding photographer and person. You’ll go far…

  5. Michelle says:

    I can’t wait until I get married just so I can have Erica be my photog! Your work is simply beautiful, Erica!

  6. Between your photography and just you as a person, You are SO completely AMAZING!

  7. RW says:

    Beautiful pictures…. as always!
    I don’t know how you keep finding ways to amaze me every time.
    Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

