Lizzie Kimball Photography – Phoenix, AZ

Meet Lizzie, a wedding and senior portrait photographer who shoots Nikon with her left eye.   She shoots in manual using both RAW and JPEG, and post processes using Lightroom.

http://www.lizziekimball.com
http://www.lizziekimballblog.com
Facebook

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
I’m a college student majoring in English education, and one day as I sat in my room writing a paper, I knew that was not the life I wanted to live. I looked at my camera, headed out the door, and took off!

6kimballISO 500, 35mm, f/2.2, 1/200 sec

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
To form relationships with other photographers. It’s amazing to have photographers to talk to, ask questions, bounce ideas off of, and share. My business wouldn’t be established without the help and support of so many photographers!

What makes you different from everyone else?
My eye. I try my hardest to envision the picture before I take it. When I walk around (even if I’m not on a photo shoot) I see the picture in my mind before it is even taken. I try my best to be creative and make all of my images different. I also try to have that dreamy light!

2kimballISO 320, 50mm, f/2.8, 1/250 sec

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?
Jenny Bishop (jennybishopphotography.com) is a really great photographer I met at a workshop! She’s such an awesome girl and has a great future ahead of her.

One item you can’t live without?
Does it have to be an item? Do people count as items? I could never live without my family! If it had to be a material object it’d be my iPhone 🙂

Your best bokeh image and why?

4kimball

ISO 1000, 35mm, f/2.0, 1/40 sec

I love the glow from the lights in the background. I especially waited for the car to drive by in this one 🙂

Favorite book?
The Bible

Favorite movie?
Dan in Real Life. Zoolander takes a close second, have to love blue steel!

Where do you find inspiration?
Everywhere around me. I love to take something someone may see as trash and make it beautiful.

8kimballISO 400, 35mm, f/2.2, 1/1250 sec

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?
My relationships with my clients. I love to get to know them, joke with them, become their friend. I go above and beyond to make my clients comfortable and happy. They are all totally awesome and without them, there would be no business.

Do you use a second shooter?
Usually

1kimballISO 320, 35mm, f/2.0, 1/1000 sec

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?
Bake me cookies. White chocolate chip, please :). Just kidding. Send me an email and get to know me first!

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?
Jamie Delaine (jamiedelaine.com). I have never met her but I love her. Really, I do. Her images, her personality, she’s awesome and it would be so fun go get to know her and hang out with her. Jamie, if you see this, I love you! 🙂

9kimballISO 320, 35mm, f/2.0, 1/400 sec

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?
Does Open Source Photo count?

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?
I am still a college student, and to take the leap I continually have to sacrifice time spent studying and doing homework to keep my business afloat. It’s very hard to balance school and running a business, but with the aide of God and my beloved family, I am able to get through it.

7kimballISO 400, 35mm, f/2.2, 1/250 sec

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?
Follow your heart and never give up.

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?
I posted an ad on Craigslist to do a free wedding. It was my first wedding, ever, and I wanted to bless a couple with free wedding photography and get some experience and wedding images for my portfolio.

10kimballISO 320, 35mm, f/2.0, 1/1000 sec

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?
Meeting in a dusty ghost town. Perfect, perfect sunlight. Lots of cameras and a fun, relaxed photo shoot. Followed by Pizza, Cherry Coke, and editing our pictures together.

5kimballISO 250, 35mm, f/2.0, 1/1250 sec

Anything else you would like to share?
I continually grow everyday. I am 19 years old and started my business about 6 months ago, and it’s been a long ride but it has been more than worth the effort. When I first started, I hardly knew anything about my camera. With practice, patience, and the help of so many kind photographers, I’ve been blessed in growing my business and improving every day. Never think you’re too young. Just follow your heart and with effort and the blessings from God, you will succeed.

3kimballISO 400, 50mm, f/2.8, 1/1600 sec

***Enjoy this feature?  Leave a comment to let us know!***

Leave a Reply

