Studio Blue Photography – Lubbock, TX

Meet Lissa Anglin of Studio Blue Photography.  Lissa focuses on weddings and portraits and shoots Nikon using her right eye.  She shoots RAW when she does commercial or music work, but JPEG for everything else and is a fan of TRA and Kubota actions.

_dsc2474
www.lissaanglin.com
www.lissaanglin.com/blog
Facebook
Twitter – lissaanglin
Myspace
Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
I don’t feel that I ever really made a choice- more or less it chose me! I never expected to be in a profession that mixed all of my favorite things…people, art, technology. I just kept getting calls- so I kept shooting, and I’ve never questioned it.
018sb

17-50mm, 24mm, ISO 400, 1/500, 2.8

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
Take care of people- they matter.  Ooh, may I have two? Truly successful people fail many, many times.

What makes you different from everyone else?
Just me. No one else can see what my eyes see. I do my best to see the beauty in all the things that are in front of my camera- if I see it, you will see it.
015sb

50mm, ISO 100, 1/8000, 1.8

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?
I don’t know if he is up-and-coming, or if he is already there, but I love Spencer Combs’s work. We used to live in the same small town a long time ago. www.spencer-combs.com
004sb

50mm, 1/50, ISO 200, 1.8

One item you can’t live without?
My 50mm is my go-to lens.

Your best bokeh image and why?

026sb50mm, ISO 100, 1/160, 1.8
Baby = Bokeh. Maybe I just love the dimples.

Favorite book?
Yikes. “Ordering Your Private World” just changed the way I think about a lot of things.

Favorite movie?
I have two- and they both have do to with the first meal of the day. “The Breakfast Club” and “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”.
016sb

17-50mm, 35mm, ISO 400, 1/1000, 2.8

Where do you find inspiration?
In the people I shoot. When I get behind a camera it’s like I get to capture them as they are. I may have plans before a photoshoot, but more often than not, the personality of my subject takes me in the direction I want to go.

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?
I am! Without me, you got nothin’.
029sb2

17-50mm, 35mm. ISO400, 1/1000, 2.8

Do you use a second shooter?
Yes, for weddings. It’s always nice to have someone capturing all the little things, and also helping you rate the tastiness of the cake. 🙂 (Just FYI, a piece of cake is literally in my contract, so all of my brides and grooms are ok with my having a piece!)
032sb

17-50mm, 17mm, ISO 250, 1/250, 4.0

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?
Make sure your style fits mine, and that you know a little bit about how I do things. Show me some great images. It always helps to be nice, too.
021sb

17-50mm, 50mm, ISO 100, 1/400, 2.8

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?
This is a tough one, but it would have to be Michelle Moore. www.michellemooreblog.com

Are you a member of any organizations and have you won any awards?
I’m a member of PPA.
005sb

17-50mm, 26mm, ISO 250, 1/160, 2.8

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?
I had to work a whole lot! Any hoops I have encountered were ones I created myself.

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?
Do your research. Get involved in a forum and get an honest review of your work and your business. And, basic business- make more money than you spend.
020sb

50mm, ISO 400, 1/6400, 2.2

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?
No “campaign” or “special” I have ever come up with has made much of a difference. I’ve done my best to treat people well and I think that’s been the best marketing I can do.
027sb

17-50mm, 17mm, ISO 100, 1/80, 2.8

Are you for or against advertising (paid or free)?  If for, who have you had the most success with?
I’m not against it, but I do know that people will trust their friends more than any advertisement.

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?
Coffee! I love coffee! Or a creative photoshoot where we get to make lots and lots of bad pictures in hopes for that one “perfect” shot.
009sba

17-50mm, 17mm, ISO 200, 1/1250, 2.8

***Enjoy this feature?  Leave a comment to let us know!***

Leave a Reply

