Deyla Huss Photography – Portland, OR

Meet Deyla Huss; a right-eyed Nikon shooter (yay!) who focuses on weddings and lifestyle photography.

profile-pic

www.deylahussphotography.com
www.deylahuss.wordpress.com

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?

I knew when I shot my first wedding for my brother-in-law and his wife in April 2007! I craved what I could find through my lens and decided to do this more and more! I booked 13 weddings my first year without a website and mostly by word of mouth and feel so blessed to have this opportunity to pursue something I truly and utterly enjoy!

41

70-200mm, f/2.8, ISO200, backlit by sun

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?

WOW thats a tough one! I have learned so many valuable things related to my business, I guess a few of them would be to find your own style in your photography, BE yourself, showing your client that you are not just doing this for the money, you actually enjoy doing this and Love it! You are a real person!

81

18-135mm, f/5.3, 1/100, ISO450, 66mm

What makes you different from everyone else?

I would haveto say my crazy fun personality, I truly enjoy being around people and have fun with my job and like to make each session personal and make the clients feel comfortable with their own personalities. I know deep down that there is a little fire in everyone, sometimes you just haveto help it come out!

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?

Honestly I dont have just one, there are so many rockin up-and-coming photographers out there but to name a few that I adore : http://www.jennysunphotography.com/ and http://www.phillipwise.com/

21

50mm, f/1.4 backlit by sun

One item you can’t live without?

I really cannot live without my 50mm 1.4 or my shootsac! oh and um my camera LOL

Your favorite bokeh image and why?

bokeh-image

50mm, f/1.4, ISO 125, no flash


I love Bokeh images tis why I use my 50mm 1.4 so much, I adore its buttery images! My favorite would be this one I suppose..

Favorite book?

My all time fave book would be the Bible, there is so much history and spiritual enlightenment in it that it really helps put things into perspective!

Favorite movie?

Devil Wears Prada, I LOVE the fashion!!  and The Notebook because… common do I really need to explain?

11

70-200mm, f/2.8. ISO 100, some flash

Where do you find inspiration?

I find inspiration through my children and my husband, seriously my family rocks my world and would never be where I am without them! Also Vogue, W magazine, etc.. inspires my fashion side!

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?

My most valuable aspect to my business would be myself. Honestly you are the one selling your style and brand and most of all your art! that to me is very valuable.

71

18-135mm, f/5.5, 1/1000, ISO 200, 75mm

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?

I would probably Love to shoot with a couple off the top of my head: http://www.bobbiandmike.com/blog/ and the fabulous http://www.phillipwise.com/Blog/

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?

Did you have any hoops to jump through?  I had to juggle the “I got two babies at home” hoop but it works out great now and has adjusted well.

61

50mm, f/1.4, ISO 450,  no Flash

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?

Make sure that you know your camera inside and out! No the business as much as possible and make a realistic goal for yourself and then…………………. GO!

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?

I have packets that I designed that I send out with my cool www.moo.com business cards, also I ALWAYS send thank you’s! I also give referral credits to clients who refer a new client!

91

18-135mm, f/4.6, 1/200, 44mm

Anything else you would like to share?

Do your research, read anything and all things photography, find your insipiration and network the heck out of yourself!

31

35mm, f/4.3, ISO 140, backlit by sun

One Response to Deyla Huss Photography – Portland, OR

  1. Courtney says:

    Deyla rules the schools. 😉 Love her! And love this interview. 🙂

Leave a Reply

