Ryan Breeden Photography – Denver, CO

Meet Ryan, brand new to the photography world.  Ryan uses both eyes and shoots mostly friends and scenery currently, but is just getting in to wedding photography, and has shot 1 small one.  He loves his fuji finepix point and shoot camera for all of his work and says that it’s not about the fancy equipment, but what you can do with what you have.  He doesn’t use actions, and believes the best work is what comes straight out of the camera in it’s raw form.

n29705128_30638763_779
Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
My friend asked me to photograph his wedding because they had only about 1k for their wedding budget.  I had a great time partying with them, and have been trying to get more jobs ever since.  In the meantime, I spend a lot of time shooting scenery and friends.

n29705128_31634230_4507
What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?

That it’s not so much about having fancy expensive equipment, but about having fun and taking sweet shots.

What makes you different from everyone else?

I think it’s my complex mind and simple style.

n29705128_30015752_7605

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?

Me, of course!

One item you can’t live without?

My car keys with the bottle opener key chain… never know when the party’s starting!

Your best bokeh image and why?

What’s bokeh?  I’m down with the boca burgers.

breeden-bokeh-1-of-4

Why did you want to be included on The Bokeh Pot?

I just want people to see how awesome I am!

Favorite book?

Twilight because it helped me figure out what the chics dig… but the soundtrack’s better.

Favorite movie?

Saw V, Cheech and Chong Up in Smoke

breeden-bokeh-4-of-4

Where do you find inspiration?

The bottom of my bong.  Is that okay to say on here?

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?

My complex perspective and my ability to find the perfect angles.  I also learned how to do some cool stuff with my on camera flash.

breeden-bokeh-3-of-4

Do you use a second shooter?

Nope

How would you recommend that someone wanting to second shoot with you go about getting the gig?

I don’t use a second shooter.

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?

Joel Peter Witkin

n29705128_31287466_3409

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?

It just falls into my lap man.  I think everyone is born to be great and once you get started on the path, you just go up from there.

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?

Don’t push it, if it’s meant to be, it will happen.

n29705128_31634209_6829

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?

I cold call from the phone book.

Are you for or against advertising (paid or free)?  If for, who have you had the most success with?

I put flyers on people’s cars outside of wedding vendor businesses… we’ll see if it works.

n29705128_31287499_1013

What’s your idea of the perfect photographer networking “date”?

Why would I want to network with my competition?

Website –  in progress

5 Responses to Ryan Breeden Photography – Denver, CO

  1. Michael says:

    Oh my goodness, I was about to freak until I clicked on the website in progress link. Whew am I glad this is fake!

  2. Brandi says:

    LOL. At first I thought perhaps someone hacked the site, then I got most of the way through and I was like .. oh yeah. 🙂

  3. Good one! Such a good one!

  4. Bert says:

    Wow,
    like, just a *tad* relieved to know it’s fake…
    Such a sickening feeling in my stomach…

Leave a Reply

