Maria Lang Photography – Calgary, Alberta

Meet Maria Lang, our second Canadian to appear here on The Bokeh Pot!  Maria specializes in both weddings and portraits, shoots Canon, and uses her left eye for horizontal images, and her right eye for vertical images.

b-106a1

www.marialangphotography.com

www.marialangblog.com

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
I started out as a “closet photographer”. In the beginning, I would book a shoot every so often but would never
show any of my work off afterwards. I simply relied on word of mouth to keep things going. It was not until the
last class of a photography course I was in when I realized that it was time! The last class was the critique class
where you bring in all your work from the previous weeks… well, my entire class pretty much told me to hurry up
and get my work out there! So I did! and here I am now 5 months into my business and loving every aspect of it!

img_7226

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
There are a few, but one thing that sticks out is to make sure that you don’t de-value you work. Custom photography
can’t be compared to mall prices so price yourself accordingly and even more so when you are just starting out.
When your name first starts getting out there, you don’t want it being associated with what a good deal you are but
rather what amazing photos you take!

img_7798

What makes you different from everyone else?
It’s definitely the amount of drive I have and how I am constantly trying to improve myself. Not just in
photography but as a person in general. Also, I dream BIG! and then work on making those dreams come true!

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?
Braeden Rogers from Ambient 11 Photography. What can I say, the guy knows his light and his photos are amazing!

img_7294bw

One item you can’t live without?
my mac and my pc ( yes, I am a dual user). my life lives out of the two! well for the most part..

Your best bokeh image and why?
This is a favorite of mine and it has bokeh… so I guess that works!

bokeh1

Favorite book?
I’m more of a magazine junkie but I am currently reading the twilight series. Oh Edward…
Favorite movie?
Probably The Notebook and usually always the latest chick flick!

img_1

Where do you find inspiration?
Inspiration roots from everyday life for me and my 2 year old plays a big part in that as well. Also, testing
inspiration is inspiration in itself. Like going into a shoot with no SET plans beforehand, then seeing what you
can make out of it.

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?
I am a people person so my outgoing personality combined with my laid back approach. Does that make sense?..

img_19

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?
Jesh de Rox is one of many that I’d love to second shoot for or watch shoot or take his workshop for that matter!

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?
Well my first job is being a full time mom (which I love!). So figuring out how to manage both motherhood and a
photography business was a little difficult at first (and sometimes still is). But once that was all sorted out,
there was no stopping me! Determination got me where I am today and the late nights are something I have gotten use
to. = )

img_31bw

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?
BELIEVE! Don’t go into it thinking “This MIGHT work” or  “I THINK I can..”. Instill confidence in yourself and let
go of any insecurities. Don’t wait for things to happen, MAKE it happen. Set goals and set yourself apart.

img_0123bw

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?
I’m sure it’s been stressed about before, but building and investing in your relationships. A lot of the time my
clients and I will catch a bite to eat after a shoot and just hang out. We become friends, sometimes really good
friends.  Not only does this mean referrals but it means returning clients as well.

img_70

Anything else you would like to share?
Be true to yourself and true to your style. Also, be aware that not everyone will be a fan of your work. Don’t let
other people break you! Keep on doing what you do and do it with a passion.

img_26

2 Responses to Maria Lang Photography – Calgary, Alberta

  1. haley lamb says:

    good stuff! I loved what you wrote as being the most valuable thing you’ve learned so far….so true!

Leave a Reply

