Jamie Delaine Photography- Vancouver, BC

We’re excited to introduce Jamie Delaine as our newest profile addition to The Bokeh Pot!  Jamie is a wedding photographer in Vancouver, BC Canada.  She shoots Canon equipment using her left eye (but only because her vision in her right eye is terrible)!

jamiedelaine_crystalgenes-111Image of Me, taken by Sarah Barlow

www.jamiedelaine.com
www.jamiedelaineblog.com

Describe the moment you decided it was time to pursue this as a career?
I knew when I booked my first wedding in November 2007 (for a May 2008 wedding) that this was what I was going to do full-time. I had no doubts about going full-steam ahead! Thankfully I was blessed and photographed 11 weddings my first year. It was sort of a process of realizing that this thing IS going to work out! 🙂

jamiedelaine_crystalgenes-11028mm f/1.8, ISO 400

What is one thing you’ve learned so far that has proven most valuable?
Never underestimate the power of showing your personality; we are all SO unique and clients desire to know that we are real people! They love to know what we love, what we hate, what makes us tick; professional is boring. 😉

jamiedelaine_crystalgenes-10350mm f/1.4, ISO 100 – backlight by sun

What makes you different from everyone else?
My passion for life, for Jesus and for people.

Who is your one favorite up-and-coming photographer?
Laura Dart (http://www.dartphotographie.net/) I met this girl in Chicago this summer and she has no freakin’ idea how amazing she is.

jamiedelaine_crystalgenes-106

One item you can’t live without?
My car! I can’t imagine having to take public transit everywhere in the suburbs.

Your best bokeh image and why?
Hmm… I don’t usually get a lot of bokeh in my images–usually I shoot at such a wide angle! & Sun flare is sorta more my thing. 😉 [twenty minutes later] Seriously. I can’t even find one! Is that a bad thing!? Hah! Sorry. 😉

* edit * This is the closest I get…

jamiedelaine_crystalgenes-101

50mm, f/1.4, ISO 100 – backlight by sun

Favorite book?
The Bible, above all. Next, Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis–the man is brilliant.

Favorite movie?
So hard to pick! I will never get tired of “The Notebook” though.

jamiedelaine_crystalgenes-109 50mm f/1.4, ISO 200

Where do you find inspiration?
SO much just in God’s creation! I am constantly inspired by the contrast all around us. I also love watching Fashion TV and reading interior design magazines; I don’t know if this directly applies to photography, but it inspires my artist side. I also just love watching how couples naturally interact–I’m a big people watcher.

jamiedelaine_crystalgenes-104150mm f/1.4, ISO 100 – backlight by sun

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of your business?
Without a doubt, it’s ME. I know this sounds redundant, but “you” are the most valuable part of your business and “I” am the most valuable part of my business. How you project who you are, your brand, your style!

If you could second shoot with anyone, who would it be?
I would love to second-shoot with Jasmine Star.

jamiedelaine_crystalgenes-10528mm f/1.8, ISO 320 – backlight by the setting sun

What did you have to do to actually take the leap?  Did you have any hoops to jump through?
I made the decision in November 2008 to quit university and go full time. You can read about that here: http://jamiedelaine.com/blog/index.php/post/234 —  it was a huge step for me and really exciting!

jamiedelaine_crystalgenes-102150mm, f/1.4, ISO 800

Do you have suggestions for others trying to make the transition?
I think a good way to determine when to make the “full-time jump” is to set a specific business goal to meet. I remember Liana Lehman telling me that she made it a goal to book “X” amount of weddings before she quit her full-time job. Whenever you make your business goal, you just need to step out in faith and jump!

What is the biggest or most creative thing you do/have done to draw new clients?
Really just focusing on treating the clients you DO receive really well! A quick thank-you note or a gift card can do wonders; word-of-mouth is the number one marketing tool. I also have a newsletter that I just recently started which is great for keeping on contact with your clients and friends.

jamiedelaine_crystalgenes-10835mm f/1.4, ISO 400

Anything else you would like to share?
READ. Best piece of advice I can give. 🙂 Read blogs, business books, photography collections, Starbucks cups…

jamiedelaine_crystalgenes-10750mm f/1.4, ISO 100

3 Responses to Jamie Delaine Photography- Vancouver, BC

  1. John Heil says:

    great interview!

  2. Kellie says:

    brilliant idea ladies! saw the post on OSP, thought i’d check it out!! subscribed!

  3. Sylvia says:

    I “heart” Jamie’s work! Thanks for featuring her! 🙂

Leave a Reply

